Gelato Account Admin of your organisation can organise users into Groups. Groups can be created for different office locations, departments, regions or teams.
Groups are linked to folders and folder privacy, where you can set specific folders to only be visible for certain groups. Read more about folder privacy here.
Moreover Groups control the Payment methods and Billing Entities that are allowed for users who are member of a specific group.
The following aspects are covered:
1. Creating a group
To create a new group, select Team > Groups > Create group from the left side menu. If you have already invited users to your account, you can add them to the groups you have created. You can also invite them directly using the Invite button in the Users tab and assign them to a Group when sending the invitation to join Gelato.
Note: You need to have the Manage Users permission active to create a new group and add users to it
2. Assigning payment methods and billing entities
You can also pre-select payment methods and assign one or several billing entities for particular groups. This can be beneficial, so that all users in this group will see only relevant payment options and billing entities when ordering. To link a billing entity with a group, please type it and choose from the saved ones. You can link as many billing entities as needed, but first they must be added in the account. Read more about how to add a billing entity here.
3. Set folder privacy
Groups are linked to folders and folder privacy, where you can set specific folders to only be visible for certain groups. To define the privacy setting for a folder just hover the mouse on the folder and click on Set folder privacy, then define which groups should be able to see that folder.
Note: You can see which folders are public and which ones are restricted to specific groups by looking at their icon layout.
4. Joining multiple groups
Users can be a part of more than one group. In this case when users log into their account, they will be able to see all folders that are visible for the groups they are part of.
Note: A user can have only one role, regardless of how many groups he/she is in.
5. Viewing which group users are in
Click on Team > Users, find the name of the user and click on Edit. The next screen will show the group(s) the user belongs to and the Role assigned.
Note: You need to have the Manage Users permission active to view and edit user-related information