How can we help?

Follow

Creating and Joining Groups

Users can be organised into Groups, which can be created for different office locations, departments, regions or teams.

Groups are linked to folders and folder privacy, where you can set specific folders to only be visible for certain groups. Read more about folder privacy here.

Moreover, Groups control the Payment methods and Billing Entities that are allowed for users who are members of a specific group.

Important: Basic subscriptions include only 1 group, the Default group. All users in the account are part of this group and share visibility on all folders, payment methods and billing entities.

The following aspects are covered:

1. Creating a group

2. Assigning payment methods and billing entities

3. Set folder privacy

4. Joining multiple groups

5. Viewing which groups users are in 

 

1. Creating a group

To create a new group, select Team > Groups > Create group from the left side menu. If you have already invited users to your account, you can add them to the groups you have created. You can also invite them directly using the Invite button in the Users tab and assign them to a Group when sending the invitation to join Gelato.

Note: You need to have the Manage Users permission active to create a new group and add users to it

creating-group1.jpg

 

2. Assigning payment methods and billing entities

You can also pre-select payment methods and assign one or several billing entities to particular groups. This can be beneficial so that all users in this group will see only relevant payment options and billing entities when ordering. 

To link a billing entity with a group, please type it and choose from the list of pre-loaded billing entities saved in your account. Read more about how to add a billing entity here.

Note: If you don't select any billing entity, users will be able to see all the billing entities saved in your account. The same applies to payment methods.

Payment-method4.jpg

3. Set folder privacy 

Groups are linked to folders and folder privacy, where you can set specific folders to only be visible to certain groups. To define the privacy settings for a folder just hover the mouse on the folder and click on Set folder privacy, then define which groups should be able to see that folder. You can also set privacy settings for sub-folders - in this case, you can only select more stringent privacy rules than what defined for the parent folder.

Note: You can see which folders are public and which ones are restricted to specific groups by looking at their icon layout.

Screen_Shot_2019-01-25_at_15.30.39.png

 

4. Joining multiple groups

Users can be a part of more than one group. In this case, when users log into their account, they will be able to see all folders, billing entities and payment methods that are visible for all the groups they are part of.

Note: A user can have only one role, regardless of how many groups he/she is in.

 

5. Viewing which group users are in 

Click on Team > Users, find the name of the user and click on Edit. The next screen will show the group(s) the user belongs to and the Role assigned. 

Note: You need to have the Manage Users permission active to view and edit user-related information

Payment-method3.jpg

 

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request